Amy Winehouse

Because talent doesn’t get enough showcase in an age of Britney Spears and Disney celebrities.

Just last night I was going through my CDs and I discovered my Amy Winehouse-Back to Black album. It’s one of two albums I bought in the last two years. I listened to it and remembered why I bought it–Amy Winehouse is talented. In an age where Britney Spears’ career is driven by hype, Amy Winehouse represents a career driven by talent.

Unfortunately, Amy has drugs and alcohol abuse issues that she has yet to overcome. Recently, she appears to be getting her act together. It’s good, but I won’t cross my fingers or hold my breath. I hate to think it, but she may very well be my generation’s Janice Joplin, talented but troubled, and she may become like MJ sang,”Gone too soon.” I hope not, but Amy’s talent is what this thread is about. I need to hear new music from Amy. In the meantime, listen to Amy sing Back to Black, the title track from her major debut album.

About TCDH

Blogger with an opinion.
This entry was posted in Pop Culture. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

