Words

“Twitter” has just been declared as the word of the year (2009).

The Oxford English Dictionary North America has added “unfriend” to the lexicon.

This comes in a year when the debate about the future of the hyphen reached a “peak.”

Do we see a pattern here? The dumbing down of our society?

By the way, both “Twitter”–a proper noun and “unfriend” verb, are tied to social networking sites and society’s obsession with them.

I admit, I have a Twitter account, which I rarely use. I have a Myspace account, which I rarely use, and I have a Facebook account, which I shut down once before starting it up again, and now I just rarely use it, too.

Welcome to social networking madness.

By the way, the most practical word ever is “up.” It’s used as a dummy variable or an emphasizer. ie. sit up, look up, fed up, etc.

About TCDH

Blogger with an opinion.
This entry was posted in Commentary, Pop Culture. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

