December


This is my first December post. Sigh.

You know that expression–it’s beginning to feel a lot like Christmas? Well, I am disputing it here. I don’t know about anyone else, but even though it’s the last month of the calendar year, I have not gotten into the Christmas vibe, yet. Christmas is three weeks away and it still feels off, like an inappropriate, unwelcome visitor. Even as the news says snow will fall in a few days.

After a year filled with depression and talks of recession, the year hasn’t mellowed out yet.

There’s hardly any Christmas decorations around the neighborhood and even though the commercial exploitation has started, it seems many are just not getting into the spirit.

Christmas is a feel good time, and it’s really about family–and Jesus, if you care for the latter, and it’s a good time to recap and measure the progress you’ve made throughout the year and see how you can improve for the next year. I want to get into the vibe. But, I don’t want to force it. It’s supposed to come naturally.

Anyway, I don’t want to seem like a sulker, so I’ll just wait to see how everything will play out over the next three weeks. I’ll know whether this Christmas will be a dud or a joyous time soon enough.

Right now I am, compiling my list of Dubious Achievements, for me and others.

About TCDH

Blogger with an opinion.
This entry was posted in Commentary. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

