My Hair

not me

By far, my most popular posts (most commented on) are those about the hair of black women.

While some posters politely disagreed with some points, others rudely disagreed. It’s that contentious a topic, and as a black woman, I understand why.

Right now, I have been trying to figure out what to do with my hair. I have been wearing braids for the past two years, as a means of removing the harsh chemicals, without doing the shaving the head thing, and let me tell you, it has not been an easy decision.

 With summer here, or soon to be here, I hope (this is Canada), I am torn between wearing it natural, getting a perm, or returning to braids (really, braids are for the winter). But, considering that I am heading into the corporate world, I am not certain if I want to take on the task of struggling with this hair I have been given.

Now, the general opinion I hear from posters (the point of irking) is that black hair does grow. It does, but it takes longer than other hair types and breaks faster. And, it’s not the type of hair, you can just wash and get going with. You have to do something with it. It’s what that something is that causes so much stress. Perm, braid, extensions, weaves, or natural?

UPDATE: I decided to straighten it or get a perm.

About TCDH

Blogger with an opinion.
This entry was posted in Black people, Women. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Hair

  1. Kelly says:

    You may want to check out http://urbanbushbabes.com regarding your hair. You may be inspired. Good luck.

Leave a Reply

